Budget

At the meeting of December 6, 2021, City Council adopted the 2022 budget. You can review the council meeting or consult the presentation (in French) broadcast during that evening.

The new budget reflects City Council’s commitment to ensuring sound management of our municipal finances and to delivering high-quality services at the lowest possible cost. It was also drawn up in accordance with the following priorities:

  • limit increases in the wage bill to the rate of inflation;
  • limit the increase in expenditures to the planned increases in contractual agreements and the rate of inflation;
  • limit the increase in the portion of the tax bill covering local services to the rate of inflation, and fully tax the increase in shares paid to the Agglomeration and the CMM.

This budget, which is set at $61,533,289, includes all general property taxes that cover services offered by Saint-Lambert, the Agglomeration of Longueuil, and the Communauté metropolitan de Montréal (CMM).

The Ville de Saint-Lambert, as the other related municipalities, collects the taxes required for the Longueuil Agglomeration’s operations, in the form of a contributory “share,” which is paid directly to the Longueuil Agglomeration. For more information, you can consult the Longueuil's website.

Highlights

Through rigorous management of local expenditures, the increase in the portion of the tax bill for local services is limited to 4.36%, i.e. below the rate of inflation. The share (portion) for the Agglomération de Longueuil, however, increases by 11.35%, and Saint-Lambert has no control over this. The overall tax rate therefore stands at 7.9% for the average house in 2022.

For residences, this translates to a tax rate of $0.8397 for every $100 of valuation, compared to $1.0021 in 2021. The average tax bill for a single-family residence evaluated at $823,292 and whose value is stable will therefore increase by $506 for the year 2022.

The 2022 budget proposes renewing and adding certain services:

  • maintaining free access to sports facilities for organizations offering services to young people;
  • maintaining free access to public transit for low-income seniors by offering monthly “Accès 65 Hors Pointe” transit passes;
  • a pilot project of snow removal alerts to allow for some overnight street parking;
  • increasing investments in tree planting by $100,000, to be funded by the increase in fees charged for filling residential pools;
  • increasing the library’s opening hours, through a budget allocation of $50,000; and
  • opening the arena during the summer, which will generate an estimated $23,000 in additional net revenues.

The 2022 budget includes mainly the following changes to the service offer:

  • City Council will re-examine the budgetary envelope for grants to organizations and partners in order to take into account their mission, number of users and financial situation. The sponsorship grant agreement with the Corporation for the Economic Development of Saint-Lambert will therefore not be renewed beyond December 31, 2021.
  • For both environmental and economic reasons, there will no longer be a print edition of the Leisure à la carte program. In addition, the municipal magazine Vivre Saint-Lambert will become a seasonal publication, going from 6 to 4 issues annually.

Investments

Controlling the debt is the main challenge faced by City Council in terms of the budget, particularly as major investments are essential if we are to continue remedying the cumulative deficit in our municipal infrastructure maintenance in order to ensure ongoing quality of life and security for citizens. Consult the three-year capital expenditure program to find out what projects are planned for this year.

Distribution of revenues

  • Water pricing: An increase of approximately $100,000 arising from the increase in fees charged for supplying water for swimming pools.
  • In lieu of taxes: Modifications to the compensations-in-lieu-of-taxes paid by the Ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation (MAMH), applicable as of January 1, 2022.
  • Transfer duties: Based on the history of the last five years and the January 2020 adoption of an amendment to the by-law providing for a rate of 3% for each portion of the tax base that exceeds $500,000.
  • Grants: The repayment of capital must be presented as a reduction in the debt service and the repayment of interest must be presented as a grant.
  • Recreation, Sports and Community Services: Additional revenues estimated at a little over $50,000 following the opening of the arena year-round.
  • Library, arts and culture: Increase in the contribution from the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications based on the planned expenditures.
  • Other revenues: Decrease of $650,000 resulting from the contribution from non-allocated surpluses and decrease of $183,500 resulting from the financial reserve for elections.

2022 budget in $ 2021 budget in $ Difference in $ Difference in %
Progressive cash program 3 500 000 3 250 000 250 000 7,69
Local services 20 269 039 19 071 129 1 197 910 6,28
Agglomeration services 25 337 980 23 964 083 1 373 897 5,73
CMM 639 908 636 860 3 048 0,48
Sector taxes 88 000 88 544 -544 -0,61
Water pricing 377 950 268 790 109 160 40,61
In lieu of taxes 1 511 600 1 343 309 168 291 12,53
Transfer taxes 4 250 000 4 000 000 250 000 6,25
Tickets 625 000 625 000 0 0
Public works, engineering and town planning 429 488 406 494 22 994 5,66
Subsidies 1 800 414 1 824 461 -24 047 -1,32
Leisure, sports and community life 404 700 315 700 89 000 28,19
Aquatic and youth 739 084 742 421 -3 337 -0,45
Library, arts and culture 146 093 82 842 63 251 76,35
Interest and penalties 358 000 382 281 -24 281 -6,35
Sale of assets 100 000 100 000 0 0
Rentals 141 600 133 500 8 100 6,07
Others 814 433 1 639 799 -825 366 -50,33

Distribution of expenditures

  • City Council: Increase attributable mainly to the webcasting of the Council meetings.
  • Grants to organizations and partners: Complete review of this budgetary envelope by City Council (under way).
  • City Manager’s Office: Transfer of the budget to the various divisions.
  • Human Resources and Communications: Increase attributable mainly to professional honoraria and the employee training budget.
  • City Clerk and Procurement: Increase attributable mainly to professional honoraria and insurance.
  • Finance Office and IT: Increase attributable mainly to the significant increase in costs during renewal of IT contracts.
  • Engineering, Urban Planning and Environment: Engineering service charges no longer fully capitalized, decrease in garbage collection for multi-unit dwellings, but implementation of organic waste collection for these buildings and for industrial, commercial and institutional buildings and increase for urban forestry, including $100,000 for tree planting funded by the increase in fees charged for filling swimming pools.
  • Public Works: Increase for snow removal to take into account costs related to overnight street parking for winter and fall 2022 and increase for building maintenance to take into account the return to a normal activity level and the opening of the arena year-round.
  • Culture and Recreation: Increase at the administrative level for the application of health measures, increase for the library to take into account the extension of opening hours and increase for arts and culture to cover the organization of activities and take into account the Entente de développement culturel 2021-2023.
  • Employer contributions: Decrease attributable mainly to the pension plan following the good return on the pension fund.
  • Progressive cash payment program: Increase of $250,000/year until an amount of $4,000,000 is reached.
  • Debt service: Decrease related to the fact that there was no new borrowing in 2021 since the money for certain projects now completed was borrowed in advance in 2020. Also, the debts were refinanced at a favourable rate.

2022 budget in $ 2021 budget 2021 in $ Difference in $ Difference in %
City council 386 782 345 402 41 380 11,98
Grants to organizations and partnerships 105 000 600 000 -495 000 -82,5
City Management 325 926 368 604 -42 678 -11,58
Human resources and communications 1 037 310 923 535 113 775 12,32
City Clerk and procurement 1 526 183 1 353 046 173 137 12,80
Finance and IT 1 966 546 1 572 986 393 560 25,02
Engineering, urban planning and environment 3 629 381 2 982 218 647 163 21,7
Public works 9 302 842 8 644 551 658 291 7,62
Culture et recreation 3 946 439 3 630 946 315 493 8,69
Employer contributions 2 990 495 3 088 814 -98 319 -3,18
Progressive cash payment 3 500 000 3 250 000 250 000 7,69
Debt service 6 838 497 7 514 168 -675 671 -8,99
Shares- Agglomération de Longueuil 25 337 980 23 964 083 1 373 897 5,73
Shares - Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal 639 908 636 860 3 048 0,48

Financial reports

Four times a year—in March, June, September and December—in the spirit of openness and accountability towards its citizens, the City prepares reports on its financial statements. These reports are presented and explained during public city council meetings. For the December report, please refer to the annual financial statements (below).

In accordance with the Cities and Towns Act, Mayor Pierre Brodeur presented the highlights of the 2020 financial report and of the report from the external auditor at the meeting of June 14, 2021:

“First, I wish to point out that the external auditor issued an unqualified audit opinion on the city’s 2020 financial report and on the effective aggregate taxation rate for 2020, which was $1.0153 per $100 of assessment.

The operating surplus for tax purposes stood at $2,569,036 as at December 31, 2020. This large surplus, despite the pandemic context, derived mainly from property transfer taxes, which were higher than expected (+$2.7M) and from non-recurring financial assistance for COVID-19 in the amount of $2,545,041 for fiscal 2020 and 2021, which had to be fully reported on in 2020 in accordance with accounting standards.

As a large surplus was anticipated, we took concrete actions to benefit residents by passing on a property tax bill savings for the years ahead. The working fund was thus reimbursed in advance (-$3.3M), representing an average annual savings of nearly $300,00 for the next 10 years.

The gross debt increased by nearly $11M, up from $88,196,000 to $99,326,000, mainly for the funding of the Riverside Street project. However, the net debt was $73,560,510, given that $25,765,490 was subsidized by the Quebec government.

As at December 31, 2020, the city had an unallocated operating surplus of $3,222,184, as well as an allocated operating surplus of $1,085,662. The city’s financial reserve and reserve fund totalled $4,769,503.

In conclusion, despite the pandemic context, the Ville de Saint-Lambert succeeded in maintaining its financial position. However, budgetary issues remain for the years ahead, as the tax share imposed on our city by the Agglomération de Longueuil continues to exert increasing pressure on the municipality’s finances. Major challenges also await the city, including some concerning municipal buildings.”

Every year, the Ville de Saint-Lambert prepares a financial report on its fiscal year, which runs from January 1 to December 31. It is tabled at a public meeting of city council as soon as the audit work has been completed.

This report presents financial details pertaining to the municipality’s operations, including the following:

  • assets
  • liabilities
  • revenues
  • operating expenses
  • expenditures and revenues related to capital acquisitions.

The financial report must comply with the standards of the Ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire (MAMOT) governing the presentation of municipal financial statements.

Tell us what you think

Budget

À la séance du 6 décembre 2021, le conseil municipal a adopté le budget 2022. Vous pouvez revoir la séance ou consulter la présentation diffusée lors de cette soirée.

Ce budget est orienté vers l’engagement du conseil municipal à veiller à une gestion serrée des finances municipales et à dispenser des services de qualité au meilleur coût possible. Il a également été élaboré en respect des orientations suivantes :

  • limiter l’augmentation de la masse salariale à l’inflation ;
  • limiter l’augmentation des dépenses aux augmentations prévues dans les ententes contractuelles et l’inflation ;
  • limiter l’augmentation du compte de taxes pour les services locaux à l’inflation et taxer pleinement la hausse des quotes-parts.

Ce budget, qui s’établit à 61 533 289 $, comprend toutes les taxes foncières générales pour les services de Saint-Lambert, de l’agglomération de Longueuil et de la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal (CMM).

La Ville de Saint-Lambert, tout comme les municipalités liées, perçoit la taxe pour les services d'agglomération qu'elle verse ensuite sous forme de quote-part à l'agglomération de Longueuil. Pour en savoir plus, vous pouvez consulter le site de la Ville de Longueuil.

Faits saillants

Grâce à une gestion rigoureuse des dépenses locales, la hausse du compte de taxes pour les services locaux se limite à 4,36 %, sous l’inflation. La quote-part de l’agglomération de Longueuil entraîne, quant à elle, une hausse représentant 11,35 % sur laquelle notre Ville n’a aucun contrôle. Ainsi, le taux de taxation globale s’élève à 7,9 % pour la maison moyenne en 2022.

Pour les résidences, cela se traduit par un taux de taxation qui se situe à 0,8397 $ du 100 $ d’évaluation, alors qu’il était de 1,0021 $ en 2021. La charge fiscale pour la maison moyenne unifamiliale évaluée à 823 292 $ augmentera donc de 506 $ pour l’année 2022.

Le budget 2022 propose la reconduction ainsi que l'ajout de certains services :

  • Maintien de la gratuité des plateaux sportifs aux organismes dont l’offre de service s’adresse aux jeunes ;
  • Maintien de la gratuité du transport en commun pour les aînés à faible revenu en offrant des titres mensuels « Accès 65 Hors Pointe » ;
  • Projet-pilote des alertes de déneigement pour le stationnement sur rue durant la nuit ;
  • Bonification des investissements dans la plantation d’arbres de l’ordre de 100 000 $ financés par l’augmentation des compensations pour les piscines résidentielles ;
  • Augmentation des heures d’ouverture à la bibliothèque, à la hauteur d’un budget de 50 000 $ ;
  • Ouverture de l’aréna durant l’été, ce qui engendra des revenus supplémentaires nets estimés à 23 000 $.

Le budget 2022 prévoit notamment les modifications suivantes à l'offre de services :

  • Le conseil municipal reverra l’enveloppe budgétaire reliée aux subventions aux organismes et aux partenaires afin de tenir compte de leur mission, du nombre de leurs usagers ou bénéficiaires et de leur situation financière. Ainsi, l’entente de parrainage au bénéfice de la Corporation de développement économique (CDE) de Saint-Lambert ne sera pas renouvelée au-delà du 31 décembre 2021.
  • Par souci environnemental et économique, le programme Loisirs à la carte ne sera plus imprimé. De plus, le magazine municipal Vivre Saint-Lambert deviendra une publication saisonnière, passant de 6 à 4 parutions annuellement.

Investissements

Le contrôle de l’évolution de la dette est le principal défi que le conseil municipal a à faire face au niveau budgétaire. Des investissements importants sont essentiels pour poursuivre le rattrapage du déficit d’entretien des infrastructures municipales afin d’assurer une qualité de service aux citoyens. Consultez le programme triennal d'immobilisation pour connaître les projets planifiés pour cette année.

Répartition des revenus

Les principales variations dans les revenus s'expliquent par :

  • Tarification de l’eau : Augmentation d’environ 100 000 $ provenant de l’augmentation de la compensation pour la fourniture de l’eau pour une piscine.
  • Tenant lieu de taxes : Refonte des compensations tenant lieu de taxes par le MAMH applicable dès le 1er janvier 2022.
  • Droits de mutation : Basés sur l’historique des 5 dernières années et adoption en janvier 2020 d’une modification au règlement prévoyant un taux de 3 % pour toute tranche de la base d’imposition qui excède 500 000 $.
  • Subventions : Le remboursement de capital doit être présenté en réduction du service de la dette et le remboursement d’intérêts est présenté comme subvention.
  • Loisirs, sports et vie communautaire : Revenus supplémentaires estimés à un peu plus de 50 000 $ suite à l’ouverture de l’aréna à l’année.
  • Bibliothèque, arts et culture : Augmentation de la contribution provenant du ministère de la Culture et des Communications basée sur les dépenses prévues.
  • Autres revenus : Diminution de 650 000 $ provenant de la contribution du surplus libre et diminution de 183 500 $ provenant de la réserve financière pour élections.

Budget 2022 en $ Budget 2021 en $ Différence en $ Différence en %
Programme comptant progressif 3 500 000 3 250 000 250 000 7,69
Services locaux 20 269 039 19 071 129 1 197 910 6,28
Services d'agglomération 25 337 980 23 964 083 1 373 897 5,73
CMM 639 908 636 860 3 048 0,48
Taxes de secteur 88 000 88 544 -544 -0,61
Tarification de l'eau 377 950 268 790 109 160 40,61
Tenant lieu de taxes 1 511 600 1 343 309 168 291 12,53
Droits de mutation 4 250 000 4 000 000 250 000 6,25
Contraventions 625 000 625 000 0 0
Travaux publics, génie, urbanisme et environnement 429 488 406 494 22 994 5,66
Subventions 1 800 414 1 824 461 -24 047 -1,32
Loisirs, sports et vie communautaire 404 700 315 700 89 000 28,19
Aquatique et jeunesse 739 084 742 421 -3 337 -0,45
Bibliothèque, arts et culture 146 093 82 842 63 251 76,35
Intérêts et pénalités 358 000 382 281 -24 281 -6,35
Vente d'actifs 100 000 100 000 0 0
Locations 141 600 133 500 8 100 6,07
Autres 814 433 1 639 799 -825 366 -50,33

Répartition des dépenses

Les principales variations dans les dépenses s'expliquent par :

  • Conseil municipal : Augmentation principalement attribuable à la webdiffusion des séances du conseil.
  • Subventions aux organismes et partenariats : Revue complète de cette enveloppe budgétaire par le conseil municipal (en cours).
  • Direction générale : Transfert du budget dans les directions.
  • Ressources humaines et communications : Augmentation principalement attribuable aux honoraires professionnels et au budget de formation des employés.
  • Greffe et approvisionnements : Augmentation principalement attribuable aux honoraires professionnels et aux assurances.
  • Finances et informatique : Augmentation principalement attribuable à la hausse significative des coûts lors du renouvellement des contrats informatiques.
  • Génie, urbanisme et environnement : les frais du service du génie ne sont plus entièrement capitalisés, diminution de la collecte des déchets pour les multilogements, mais implantation de la collecte des matières organiques pour les multilogements et les industries, commerces et institutions (ICI) ainsi que bonification au niveau de la foresterie, dont 100 000 $ pour la plantation d’arbres financée par l’augmentation de la compensation pour piscine.
  • Travaux publics : Augmentation au niveau du déneigement pour tenir compte des frais en lien avec le stationnement sur rue de nuit pour l’hiver et l’automne 2022 et augmentation au niveau de l’entretien des bâtiments pour tenir compte du retour à un niveau d’activité standard et de l’ouverture de l’aréna à l’année.
  • Culture et loisirs : Augmentation au niveau de l’administration pour l’application des mesures sanitaires, augmentation au niveau de la bibliothèque pour tenir compte de la bonification des heures d’ouverture ainsi que augmentation au niveau des arts et de la culture pour l’organisation d’activités et pour tenir compte de l’Entente de développement culturel 2021-2023.
  • Contributions de l’employeur : Diminution principalement attribuable au régime de retraite suite au bon rendement de la caisse de retraite.
  • Paiement comptant progressif : Augmentation prévue par règlement de 250 000 $/année jusqu’à atteindre 4 000 000 $.
  • Service de la dette : Diminution en lien avec le fait qu’il n’y a eu aucune nouvelle émission en 2021 puisque l’emprunt pour certains projets réalisés a été fait d’avance en 2020. De plus, les dettes sont refinancées à un taux favorable.

Budget 2022 en $ Budget 2021 en $ Différence en $ Différence en %
Conseil municipal 386 782 345 402 41 380 11,98
Subventions aux organismes et partenariats 105 000 600 000 -495 000 -82,5
Direction générale 325 926 368 604 -42 678 -11,58
Ressources humaines et communications 1 037 310 923 535 113 775 12,32
Greffe et approvisionnements 1 526 183 1 353 046 173 137 12,80
Finances et informatique 1 966 546 1 572 986 393 560 25,02
Génie, urbanisme et environnement 3 629 381 2 982 218 647 163 21,7
Travaux publics 9 302 842 8 644 551 658 291 7,62
Culture et loisirs 3 946 439 3 630 946 315 493 8,69
Contributions de l'employeur 2 990 495 3 088 814 -98 319 -3,18
Paiement comptant progressif 3 500 000 3 250 000 250 000 7,69
Service de la dette 6 838 497 7 514 168 -675 671 -8,99
Quotes-parts - Agglomération de Longueuil 25 337 980 23 964 083 1 373 897 5,73
Quotes-parts - Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal 639 908 636 860 3 048 0,48

Rapports financiers

Quatre fois l’an, soit en mars, en juin, en septembre et en décembre, des rapports sur les états financiers de la Ville sont préparés dans une volonté de transparence envers les citoyens. Ces rapports sont présentés et bien expliqués lors d’une séance du conseil municipal. Pour le rapport de décembre, référez-vous au rapport des états financiers de l’exercice annuel .

Conformément à la Loi sur les cités et villes, le maire Pierre Brodeur a fait rapport à la séance du 14 juin 2021 des faits saillants du rapport financier de la Ville de Saint-Lambert au 31 décembre 2020 et du rapport du vérificateur externe :

« En premier lieu, je tiens à souligner que le vérificateur externe a émis une opinion sans réserve sur le rapport financier 2020 et sur le taux global de taxation réel pour 2020, qui est de 1,0153 $ par 100 $ d’évaluation.

L’excédent de fonctionnement à des fins fiscales s’élève à 2 569 036 $ au 31 décembre 2020. Cet important surplus, malgré le contexte de la pandémie, provient principalement des droits de mutation qui sont plus élevés que prévus (+2,7 M$) et de l’aide financière non récurrente pour la COVID-19 de 2 545 041 $ pour les exercices financiers 2020 et 2021 qui devait entièrement être comptabilisée en 2020 selon les normes comptables.

Puisqu’un important surplus était anticipé, nous avons pris des actions concrètes afin de faire bénéficier les citoyens d’une économie sur leur compte de taxes pour les années à venir. Ainsi, le fonds de roulement a été remboursé par anticipation (-3,3 M$), ce qui représente une économie moyenne annuelle de près de 300 000 $ pour les 10 prochaines années.

La dette brute a augmenté de près de 11 M$ passant de 88 196 000 $ à 99 326 000 $, principalement pour le financement des travaux du projet Riverside. La dette nette s’élève à 73 560 510 $, ce qui signifie que 25 765 490$ est subventionné par le gouvernement du Québec.

Au 31 décembre 2020, la Ville a un excédent de fonctionnement non affecté de 3 222 184 $ ainsi qu’un excédent de fonctionnement affecté de 1 085 662 $. Les réserves financières et les fonds réservés totalisent 4 769 503 $.

En conclusion, malgré le contexte de la pandémie, la Ville de Saint-Lambert a réussi à se maintenir au niveau financier. Cependant, les enjeux budgétaires demeurent pour les années à venir, puisque la quote-part de l’agglomération de Longueuil continue d’exercer une pression de plus en plus grande sur les finances de la municipalité. De plus, des défis importants attendent la Ville, entre autres, au chapitre des bâtiments municipaux. »

Chaque année, la Ville de Saint-Lambert dresse le rapport financier de son exercice, qui s'étend du 1er janvier au 31 décembre. Il est déposé au conseil municipal en séance publique dès la fin du travail de vérification.

Ce rapport présente les détails financiers concernant la municipalité, entre autres :

  • les actifs
  • les passifs
  • les revenus
  • les charges d'opération
  • les dépenses et revenus liés aux acquisitions d'immobilisations

Le rapport financier doit répondre aux normes de présentation de l’information financière municipale du ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation (MAMH).

Donnez-nous votre avis