The accessibility mode increases the contrast for people with visual problems.


Rehabilitation of Webster Street

This year, the Ville de Saint-Lambert will proceed with the reconstruction of Webster Street, between Notre-Dame and Mercille avenues. The intersections of these two avenues will also be included in the work.

The work will involve replacing certain catch basins, adding a fire hydrant, replacing some sections of sidewalk, reconstructing the road structure and laying two new paving courses.

Timetable

Work will begin gradually during the week of July 12 and ramp up over the following weeks, with completion slated for the end of August. The contractor has scheduled one week of downtime at the end of July during the construction holiday. The contractor will return in September to lay sod. Planting later in the season avoids much of the intense midsummer heat and helps maximize the growth of the new turf.

The schedule may change at any time without notice, according to the progress of the work.

Proposed redevelopment

The future layout of Webster Street between Mercille and Notre Dame avenues, including the intersections, will be identical to the current layout.

Traffic

Webster Street between Mercille and Notre Dame avenues (including the intersections) will be closed for the duration of the work, from the week of July 12 to the end of August, with the exception of the scheduled week off at the end of July.

Mercille and Notre Dame avenues between Green and Lespérance streets will also be closed for the duration of the work, but access to businesses and local traffic will remain open. It will not be possible to cross the Webster Street intersection.

The festivities taking place during the second half of August in downtown Saint-Lambert, which will involve the closure of Victoria Avenue, will affect the planned detour route. This route will be modified during the week preceding the festivities (August 9). We ask that you follow the signs indicating the detour route in effect at that time.

It is also possible that traffic will be temporarily interrupted for certain construction operations. These temporary closures will last a maximum of 15 minutes, between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m.

Detour

To help you get around during the reconstruction work, a detour route will be set up. We recommend following the signs that will be installed soon, indicating the route to take. 

Detour route starting August 13
Detour route

One-way traffic on Mercille Avenue

Mercille Avenue between Green Street and Lespérance Street will be converted to a two-way street for the duration of the work. This will allow residents to exit and access their homes at any time, regardless of which side of Webster Street they live on.

Parking

Depending on their location, some residences will not have access to their private parking space for certain periods during the work. For the moment, besides occasional, temporary access restrictions, it is expected that this will involve two longer periods. The first will be of a duration of 5 working days and the other, 10 working days. Affected residents will be notified so that they have time to remove their vehicles from their driveways.

If you are unable to park your vehicle at home, we ask that you please park on nearby streets outside of the work zone.

On-street parking will be prohibited at all times within the work zone. In addition, parking on Mercille Avenue will also be prohibited at all times on the even-numbered side, between Webster and Lespérance streets, to allow for oncoming traffic.

Access to businesses

Access to businesses located on the periphery of the work zone on Webster Street and Notre-Dame Avenue will not be affected by the work.

Pruning

In order to avoid any damage to trees that may be impacted by the work, some will require pruning and/or root cutting. These best practices will prevent serious damage to the trees and allow them to recover better afterwards.

Potable water

Certain work on the water system will require a temporary interruption (a few hours) of the potable water supply.

Following this work, a precautionary boil water advisory will be in effect until further notice. Affected residents will have to boil their water for a minimum of one minute before consumption. They will receive a new notice when the boil water advisory is lifted.

If you are affected by the water closure, you will receive 24 to 48 hours’ notice. We ask that you carefully follow the instructions provided with this notice.

Neighbourhood residents

The reconstruction of a street is a complex operation involving many companies, and it creates a great deal of disruption to people’s routines. The page Practical information on roadworks will offer you practical tips to ensure your daily routine continues as smoothly as possible.

Got questions?

Please contact the Engineering Management division at 450-466-3094 or at genie@saint-lambert.ca or Olivier Banville, Municipal engineering technician. You can reach him at 438 830-0664.

Keep informed!

We will be updating this page on a regular basis. Please consult it for the latest news. 

News

2021-08-11 – New detour route
Due to upcoming events in the area (Classic Car Exhibition and Saint-Lambert Days), a new detour route will be set up for a few weeks. 

Specifically, the detour will use the following street sections:

  1. Green (between Notre-Dame and Pine)
  2. Pine or Birch (between Green and Lespérance) according to the direction of traffic
  3. Lespérance (between Pine and Notre-Dame)

For more details, consult the detour route map at the top of the page. This detour route will be in effect from Friday, August 13, 2021 until early September.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. 

Information: 450 466-3094, genie@saint-lambert.ca

2021-07-09 - Start of the work
During the week of July 12, the Ville de Saint-Lambert will proceed with the reconstruction of the surface of Webster Street, between Mercille and Notre Dame avenues, including the intersections. This work will continue until the end of August.

As a result, Mercille and Notre-Dame avenues will be closed between Green and Lespérance streets for the duration of the work. Access to businesses and local traffic will remain open for the duration of the work.

To make it easier for you to get around during the work, a detour route will be set up. We recommend following the signs that will be installed indicating the route to take. Thank you for your cooperation.

Le mode accessibilité augmente les contrastes pour les personnes ayant des difficultés visuelles.


Réfection de la rue Webster

Cette année, la Ville de Saint-Lambert procédera à la reconstruction de la rue Webster, entre les avenues Notre-Dame et Mercille. Les intersections de ces deux avenues sont également visées par ces travaux.

Les travaux consisteront au remplacement de certains puisards, l’ajout d’une borne-fontaine, le remplacement de certains tronçons de trottoir, la reconstruction de la structure de chaussée et la mise en place de deux nouvelles couches de pavage.

Échéancier

Les travaux débuteront graduellement au cours de la semaine du 12 juillet, s’intensifieront au cours des semaines suivantes et se termineront vers la fin août. L’entrepreneur prévoit une semaine d’inactivité à la fin juillet pendant les vacances de la construction. L’entrepreneur sera de retour au mois de septembre pour effectuer la mise en place du gazon en plaques. La plantation du gazon à ce moment permet d’éviter une grande partie de la chaleur accablante et de maximiser sa croissance.

Cette planification peut changer à tout moment sans préavis, selon l’avancement des travaux.

Aménagement proposé

L’aménagement futur de la rue Webster, entre les avenues Mercille et Notre-Dame, incluant les intersections, sera identique à l’aménagement actuel.

Circulation

La fermeture de la rue Webster, entre les avenues Mercille et Notre-Dame (incluant les intersections), est prévue pour la durée totale des travaux, soit de la semaine du 12 juillet à la fin août, à l’exception de la semaine d’inactivité prévue à la fin juillet. 

Les avenues Mercille et Notre-Dame seront barrées entre les rues Green et Lespérance pour la durée totale des travaux, tout en restant accessibles à la circulation locale et aux commerces. Il sera impossible de traverser l’intersection Webster.

Les festivités prévues dans la deuxième moitié du mois d’août au centre-ville de Saint-Lambert entraînant la fermeture de l'avenue Victoria affecteront le chemin de détour prévu. Ce dernier sera alors modifié dans la semaine précédant ces festivités (9 août). Nous vous demandons de suivre les indications du chemin de détour en vigueur à ce moment.

Il est également possible que la circulation soit interrompue momentanément pour certaines opérations de chantier. Celles-ci seront d’une durée maximale de 15 minutes, entre 9 h et 15 h.

Chemin de détour

Afin de faciliter vos déplacements durant les travaux, une voie de contournement a été prévue. Nous vous conseillons de suivre la signalisation qui sera installée en temps et lieu pour vous indiquer le chemin. 

Détour à compter du 13 août

Détour

Sens unique sur l’avenue Mercille

Pour la totalité de la période des travaux, le sens unique de l’avenue Mercille sera enlevé entre les rues Green et Lespérance. Cela permettra aux résidents de quitter et d’acccéder à leur domicile en tout temps, peu importe de quel côté de la rue Webster ils résident.

Stationnement

Selon leur emplacement, certaines résidences n’auront pas accès à leur stationnement privé pour certaines périodes pendant les travaux. Deux plus longues périodes sont prévues pour le moment, à l’exception des impossibilités d’accès ponctuels momentanées. L’une sera d’une durée de 5 jours ouvrables et l’autre de 10 jours ouvrables. Les citoyens affectés seront avertis afin qu’ils aient le temps de sortir leur véhicule de leur entrée.

Lorsqu’il vous sera impossible de stationner votre véhicule à votre domicile, nous vous demandons de bien vouloir le stationner sur les rues avoisinantes, à l’extérieur de la zone de travaux.

Le stationnement sur rue sera interdit en tout temps à l’intérieur de la zone de travaux. De plus, le stationnement sur l’avenue Mercille sera également interdit en tout temps du côté pair, entre les rues Webster et Lespérance, afin de permettre la circulation à contresens des véhicules.

Accès aux commerces

L’accès aux commerces situés en bordure de la zone de travaux sur la rue Webster et sur l’avenue Notre-Dame ne sera pas impacté par les travaux.

Élagage

Afin d’éviter tout dommage aux arbres pouvant être en conflit avec les travaux, certains nécessiteront un élagage et/ou une précoupe racinaire. Ces bonnes pratiques permettent d’éviter de graves dommages aux arbres et leur permettent de mieux cicatriser par la suite.

Eau potable

Certaines interventions sur le réseau d’aqueduc nécessiteront une interruption temporaire (quelques heures) de votre approvisionnement en eau potable. 

Suite à cette interruption, un avis d’ébullition préventif sera en vigueur jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Vous devrez alors faire bouillir votre eau pendant un minimum d’une minute avant consommation. Vous recevrez un nouvel avis lorsque l’avis d’ébullition sera levé.

Un préavis de 24 h à 48 h avant la fermeture sera remis aux résidents affectés par cette fermeture. Nous vous demandons de suivre attentivement les instructions fournies lors de ce préavis.

Résidents du quartier

Nous sommes conscients que reconstruire une rue est une opération complexe qui implique de nombreuses entreprises et qui bouleverse les habitudes de vie. Nous vous invitons donc à consulter la page Informations pratiques lors des travaux. Elle a pour objectif de vous donner des conseils pratiques pour que votre quotidien demeure le plus agréable possible. 

Des questions?

Nous vous invitons à communiquer avec la Division du génie au 450 466-3094 ou à genie@saint-lambert.ca ou avec Olivier Banville. M. Banville est technicien en génie municipal et pendant toute la durée des travaux, il sera votre interlocuteur privilégié. Présent en permanence sur le chantier de construction, il fera tout pour vous aider à mieux supporter les petits problèmes générés par les travaux. Pour lui parler : 438 830-0664.

Restez informés

Nous mettrons régulièrement à jour cette page. Nous vous invitons à la consulter pour connaître les dernières nouvelles.

Actualités

2021-08-12 – Nouveau chemin de détour
En raison de la tenue d’événements dans le secteur (Exposition de Voitures Anciennes et Fêtes de Saint-Lambert), un nouveau chemin de détour sera mis en place pour quelques semaines. 

Le détour empruntera plus précisément les tronçons de rue suivants :

  1. Green (entre Notre-Dame et Pine);
  2. Pine ou Birch (entre Green et Lespérance) selon le sens de la circulation;
  3. Lespérance (entre Pine et Notre-Dame).

Pour plus de détails, vous pouvez consulter la carte du chemin de détour située au haut de la page. Ce chemin de détour entrera en fonction ce vendredi 13 août 2021 et sera en vigueur jusqu’au début du mois de septembre.

Nous sommes désolés des inconvénients que cela peut occasionner. 

Information : 450 466-3094, genie@saint-lambert.ca

2021-07-09 - Début des travaux
Au courant de la semaine du 12 juillet, la Ville de Saint-Lambert débutera la reconstruction de la structure de chaussée de la rue Webster, entre l’avenue Mercille et l’avenue Notre-Dame, incluant les intersections. Ces travaux s’échelonneront jusqu’à la fin août.

Conséquemment, les avenues Mercille et Notre-Dame seront barrées entre les rues Green et Lespérance pour la durée totale des travaux. L’accès aux commerces, tout comme la circulation locale sera possible lors de la durée des travaux.

Afin de faciliter vos déplacements durant les travaux, une voie de contournement a été prévue. Nous vous conseillons de suivre la signalisation qui sera installée en temps et lieu pour vous indiquer le chemin. Merci de votre collaboration.